Criminal Legal Services Offers Aggressive Criminal Defense

Criminal Legal Services Offers Aggressive Criminal Defense

Don't Give Up Hope, Let Our Experienced Attorney Help You

Don't Give Up Hope, Let Our Experienced Attorney Help You

Having The Right Attorney Can Make All The Difference

Having The Right Attorney Can Make All The Difference

Check Out Our Affordable Rates And Payment Plans

Check Out Our Affordable Rates And Payment Plans

Premier Legal Experts Fighting To Protect Your Rights

Premier Legal Experts Fighting To Protect Your Rights

Minor In Possession – MIP

Free Consultations Available 24/7
(248) 716-6883 or (800) 716-6883

A Minor in Possession (MIP) charge is a criminal offense; and Michigan holds some of the strongest MIP laws in the country. If you or someone you know have been charged with a MIP offense, we recommend you hire an experienced attorney to protect your rights. At Criminal Legal Services, our attorneys specialize in defending MIP charges; contact us today for a free consultation.

Michigan MIP Law 

In Michigan the legal age for consumption of alcohol is 21. Michigan Law defines a minor is “in possession” if the minor purchases or attempts to purchase alcohol; consumes or attempts to consume alcohol; possesses or attempts to possess alcohol; or has any bodily alcohol content (BAC). For more information on Michigan’s MIP law please review the “MIP Statute” and feel free to contact us to get your questions answered.

First Offense

First-time offenders may be giving the opportunity to receive a break by not having a misdemeanor on their record if they complete all probation requirements.

Minor Coming Home from Canada

Minors,age 19 or 20, who enter into the US after they legally consumed alcohol in Canada and have bodily alcohol content, can still be arrested and charged with a MIP. However, if the minor can prove they consumed the alcohol in a venue/location where that consumption was legal, the charge will be dismissed.

Transporting Alcohol

It is not illegal for a person under the age of 21 to transport alcohol in a vehicle as long as there someone over the age of 21 is present.

Using A Fake ID

Penalties for using a fraudulent ID to purchase alcohol can involve a fine up to $100; 93 days in jail; drivers licenses suspended for 90 days; and/or alcohol screening.

Get your Questions Answered Now 

At Criminal Legal Services, our attorneys specialize in defending Minor in Possession cases. Our attorneys will fight to defend your rights and keep your record clean. The MIP laws and penalties can be confusing, contact us today to get
all your questions answered during a free consultation with our experienced attorneys.

Call Us Now for A Free Consultation!
(248) 716-0087 or (800) 716-6883

Additional Information

MCL Section 436.1703
Criminal Procedure
What To Know About Your Attorney
Cost & Payment Plans
Attorney Information
Contact Us

Criminal Legal Services – Experienced Defense Attorneys

Criminal Legal Services, office located in Southfield, handle criminal cases in virtually every court throughout Oakland, Wayne, Macomb, Livingston and Washtinaw County. Every case is different; however, our attorneys have obtained outstanding results for their clients. The results speak for themselves and although we cannot promise the same outcome for every case, we can promise that a top criminal attorney who specializes in the crimes alleged will do everything they can to obtain the same quality of results. Any misdemeanor or felony carries the possibility of jail time; therefore, you must have the best attorney in the business handle your case. Having the right attorney can make all the difference.

READ MORE »
Live Chat